Lifestyle Unboxed | Reviewing The 2016 Mazda CX-5

Lifestyle Unboxed | Reviewing The 2016 Mazda CX-5

Share: Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook11Share on Google+0Email this to someoneShare on LinkedIn0

So, I got to spend some time in my first compact crossover and it was pretty awesome. Riding around in the 2016 Mazda CX-5 opened my eyes to why people gravitate to bigger cars in the first place – the extra internal room is a game changer.

I quickly found myself taking on tasks that I’d been putting off for months because I could knock them out in one trip.  One large chore was to haul some stuff to my storage unit to declutter my tiny apartment.

retouchedThe hubby and I live in a walkup so carting the bulky items down was anything but fun. Luckily, everything fit in the Mazda CX-5 with plenty of room to spare, so we didn’t have to get creative with our packing skills.

2016-11-06-09-21-35-hdr

The back seats fold flat so we just tossed everything in the car.

2016-11-06-10-29-27

After we dropped everything at the storage unit we drove to a cute French lunch spot in Cranford, NJ – Cafe Paris and got some savory crepes as a reward. 2016-11-06-10-49-12

I spent the rest of the week exploring all the features of the Mazda CX-5.  The car includes a touchscreen navigation system that is Bluetooth enabled.

2016-11-05-15-41-47-1

Of course, I quickly paired my phone with the car which was pretty simple. There was a small bug in the pairing as it wasn’t able to find my device the first few times I exited and re-entered the car, but this fixed itself by the third time I re-entered the car. From there I was always connected.

Also, the Bluetooth system allowed me to make voice activated calls and would tell me who was on the line when my phone would ring – which was a handy feature.

The navigation system also features GPS, a rearview camera, satellite radio as well as AM and FM stations. You can also play music from your cell phone once paired.

The built-in GPS wasn’t as challenging as previous Mazda models, but that could be because I am more accustomed to the system after reviewing several of their cars this year. It’s still not as smart as I’d like it to be – since it makes you enter the country, state, and city for your destination – but it’s hardly a dealbreaker in a car that offers so many other positives.

2016-11-05-15-38-34-hdrThe rearview camera is just BAE. I don’t think I’d even buy a car without one after using it to park in tight spaces.

The car also comes with iActivSense which is basically radar technology that warns you of hazards that get too close to you or you get too close to them;). The car beeps to let you know to pay attention. The system wasn’t nearly as sensitive as when I reviewed the Mazda CX-3 which was great. Plus, the Mazda CX-5 was larger than the compact cars I normally drive, so having the extra feature made me feel more comfortable as I adjusted to the extra space.

2016-11-05-15-39-49

The Mazda CX-5 seats five and also includes a keyless remote, touch start, sunroof, dual heating and AC as well as front and side air-bags.

Riding in the car felt smooth as silk and I didn’t feel the bumps when I traveled some of the under-construction streets and roadways in New Jersey. Also, the car felt roomy without being overpowering, which is something I was worried about since I’m such a small person (5’3).

I’m not a mommy yet but did find myself thinking this car would be a good choice for parents who don’t want to sacrifice being cool.

The 2016 Mazda CX-5 starts at $23,195 and you can see more in my Lifestyle Unboxed video above.

-XOXO Charell Star| Not Just A Girl In A Dress

Share: Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook11Share on Google+0Email this to someoneShare on LinkedIn0